Mississippi Law Journal Award


The Mississippi Law Journal recently bestowed the Mississippi Law Journal Award on Elena Mosby Peters. The Mississippi Law Journal Award is presented annually to the third-year member who has most contributed to the betterment of the Journal through hard work and self sacrifice, and who has dedicated themselves to improving the quality of the Journal’s publications and its reputation in the law school community and legal community outside of the university. The Mississippi Law Journal Award is the highest honor the Mississippi Law Journal confers on a student member.

Peters serves as Volume 90’s Executive Editor. Her article entitled “Jurisdiction to Tax is Not Jurisdiction at All: Understanding Jurisdiction’s Jargon in Light of South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc.” was published last semester in The Mississippi Law Journal. Following graduation, Peters will first clerk for a federal judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, and then for a federal judge at the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Mississippi. Upon finishing her clerkships, Peters will join Butler Snow in their Ridgeland, Mississippi office.

Robert C. Khayat Award for Outstanding Service and Contribution to the Mississippi Law Journal

The Mississippi Law Journal recognized Harrison Smith and Bryant Carlton as this year’s recipients of the Robert C. Khayat Award.

This honor is awarded to two third-year Journal members who best represent the service and commitment of former Chancellor Robert C. Khayat. Robert C. Khayat is a Journal alumnus, Emeriti Professor of Law, and former Chancellor of the university.


Smith serves as Volume 90’s Business Manager. Following graduation, Smith will clerk for Judge Cory Wilson on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. Following his clerkship, Smith will work for Butler Snow in Jackson, Mississippi.





Carlton serves as one of Volume 90’s Executive Notes and Comments Editors. Following graduation, Carlton will clerk for the United States District Court for the Southern District of Mississippi.